The Gladney Cup

Winged Foot | Mamaroneck, NY

WingedFoot_CHbb  High Res.jpg

Few golf clubs in America have earned a bigger place in the game’s history than Winged Foot Golf Club. Since the club opened in 1923, its two A. W. Tillinghast courses in Mamaroneck have hosted a dozen major tournaments, including five U.S. Opens (with a sixth to come in 2020), a PGA Championship, two U.S. Amateurs, the Walker Cup, two U.S. Women’s Opens, and the USGA Senior Championship. Winged Foot club professionals along with pro and amateur members have won countless times on tour (including 10 majors), with Craig Wood winning both The Masters and the U.S. Open, and his successor, Claude Harmon, triumphing at Augusta as well.

The most recent major at Winged Foot was the 2006 U.S. Open, which will always be remembered for the man who lost. Phil Mickelson came into the superb 18th hole with a one-stroke lead. He pushed his tee shot into the trees, tried to slice a three iron to the green but hit a tree branch instead, and finished the hole with a disappointing double bogey for second place. Australian Geoff Ogilvy was the winner.

A. W. Tillinghast designed two excellent courses at Winged Foot. The West Course is better known, but the East is an equally difficult test. It hosted the U.S. Women’s Open in 1957 and 1972. The first USGA Senior Open was also held on the East Course. It was won by Roberto De Vicenzo in 1980.

An otherwise unheralded Winged Foot member made another entry in the history books when a shot was named after him. He was fond of taking a second shot on the first tee if he didn’t like his first one—an all-too-common blatant violation of the rules. His name? David Mulligan.

Adapted from Westchester Magazine

Golf Outing

Shinnecock Hills | Southampton, NY


Shinnecock Hills Golf Club, founded in 1891, is one of the historic golfing institutions in the United States. It is the oldest incorporated golf club and was one of the five founding member clubs of the USGA. The Clubhouse, built in 1892, was the work of the architectural firm of McKim, Mead and White. While in character it remains substantially the same as a century ago, it has enjoyed several expansions and renovations in the intervening decades, before undergoing a major restoration completed in 2016.

The original twelve hole golf course was designed by Willie Davis, and expanded to eighteen holes in the spring of 1895. These links were revised four times before the present course, designed by William Flynn and built by Dick Wilson of Toomey and Flynn, was opened for the 1931 season.

Shinnecock is laid out utilizing the natural topography of the Shinnecock Hills, and resembles a number of the courses on the British Isles. It has long been recognized as one of the top courses of the world, and has been the scene of notable USGA events since its beginning. These include the second U.S. Open Championship and U.S. Amateur in 1896, the Women’s Amateur in 1900, and the Walker Cup Match in 1977. The U.S. Open Championship was held at Shinnecock again in 1986, and in 1995 for the 100th anniversary of the Open, and again in 2004 and 2018.

The 2026 U.S. Open Championship will be held at Shinnecock.